Moving Art

We can carry out our artistic passion in many different forms. One of them is through animation or film. I woke up this morning determined to write more entry to this blog. I stumble upon this entry of Ottawa International Animation Festival – Short Competition 2 at Drawn. All of the entries are very exceptionally well done! I would like to focus more on these two below and talk about them.

Sinna Man (Angry Man) by Anita Killi

WWF ‘Heroes of the UAE’ by Josiah Newbolt & Ben Falk

Both of these shorts are exceptionally moving. I like to call them moving art, not just because it is a more fluid form where the character moves, but also as an agent of movement – a catalyst for a greater cause. When I watched the first short by Anita Kili, it blew my mind. I didn’t come from an abusive environment when I grew up, but I clearly feel moved by this short animation. Her child-like style lend itself to the cause and I thought it was perfect and related to the child. The same with Josiah and Ben’s video, it was so pristine and exceptionally done conveying the subject matter of carbon footprint.

This entry was posted in Art as Expression and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving Art

  1. oddboxcomics says:

    Nice looking site!

Leave a Reply

